Favourite Fall Lip Saviours

Image

No one wants the dry, flaky lips that seem to happen when the weather gets a bit colder and sometimes it’s nice to treat your lips to something that feels really rich and lovely. These lip balms (and a gloss) are not overly expensive, but have some good quality ingredients that defend lips against winter chapping. The balms give the lips a bit of sheen (a lot of sheen from the gloss) which I think looks lovely and natural.

Image

First is the classic Rose Salve from C.O. Bigelow, which I picked up at Bath & Body Works for $5.50. It quickly became my favourite night time lip balm. My lips always feel nice and smooth and conditioned in the morning now. This is also a good staple to have because you can use it anywhere on very dry skin. I almost exclusively use it on my lips, but it’s great on cuticles as well. And I do love the scent. It doesn’t have a strong scent but it does smell faintly of rose.

Image

Another C.O. Bigelow product that I’m loving at the moment is this Mentha Lip Shine. This is a gloss, and it is excellent. It lasts a very long time and tastes and smells like sweet mint. I find it to be very protective, as it provides a nice barrier between lips and the cold or drying central heating. It’s $7.50 at Bath & Body Works.

Image

I do think I saved the best for last though. I absolutely adore this Ultra Rich Lip Balm from L’Occitane. I actually bought this when I was in France over the summer. When I first tried it, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, because I thought the texture might be a bit too waxy, but I found that once the product warms up, it melts onto the lips and feels very silky. The smell is barely there, so if you don’t like strong scents/flavours in your lip products I would definitely recommend this one. The shea butter really conditions your lips as well, so after a few days of using it, your lips feel softer. This one is $12.00 here in Canada and I think I paid about 10 Euros for it in France.

What’s your favourite lip rescue product in the colder months? Do you prefer a more natural looking balm, or a high shine gloss?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I am in love with the rose salve! I pick them up like 5 at a time haha. I also like the maybelline baby lips.

    -Katie
    Smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Great review I have tried all but the L’Occitane one, but I would imagine it every luxurious like their other products

    Reply

Leave a Reply

