Review: Chamomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter from The Body Shop

Image

This cleanser. Oh man, I cannot say enough good things about it. If you have never used a hot cloth cleanser, (you need to try it immediately, if not sooner) you smooth the cleanser on, dampen a muslin cloth/flannel/face cloth with hot water and gently remove the cleanser (and dirt/makeup) from your skin.

The Chamomile Cleansing Butter from The Body Shop is honestly so nice. It has a very light, fresh smell and the texture is lovely. The best way I can describe the texture is that it’s just like coconut oil. At room temperature it’s solid and almost waxy, but once you smooth it on and massage it into your skin, it warms up and turns into a luxurious oil. Now, you might think, wait…you’re cleansing your face with an oil? There was definitely a time when I thought that would be the last thing that made sense, especially having sensitive, acne prone skin. But that is the awesome thing about this cleanser, it cleans your face (and none of it is left on so you’re not adding oil), yet it doesn’t strip your skin of moisture. The heat and steam from using the hot cloth open your pores, so you get a very deep clean, almost like a mini-facial. My skin feels so amazingly soft and conditioned after I use this.

Image

It is also fantastic because it’s so gentle. Like I said, it will not strip your skin, and I find it very soothing. You can gently massage it right onto eyelids and eyelashes to get rid of mascara and such and it just melts it away; you don’t have to rub at all. My eyes are very sensitive (actual eyes, not just skin around eyes) and this cleanser does not irritate them, which is obviously a non-negotiable criterion for me with products going around my eyes.

Image

What is your favourite hot cloth cleanser? Will you give the Chamomile Cleansing Butter a go?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I keep seeing great reviews about this and think it may well be a nice alternative to Emma hardie which is what my mum uses. I think I will purchase this for her Christmas. Thanks for sharing. Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

