The Skincare Tag

I saw this tag over on the lovely Nuala’s dolleduplondon.com and just couldn’t resist doing it myself, as I love a bit of skincare.

Image

1. Describe your routine in five words?

Be consistent, don’t overdo it.

2. What’s your skin type?

My skin is fairly sensitive and prone to break-outs, but it’s not overly oily or dry.

3. What’s your favourite skincare product

It’s really difficult to choose just one, so I’m going to chose a category instead: moisturizer. My daytime moisturizer is the Clean and Clear morning glow moisturizer. I adore it because it has SPF, keeps acne at bay, and makes my skin look really radient. My night moisturizer is The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion. I have been using it for YEARS and it is the only thing that really does the trick for my skin. It adds moisture, fends off break-outs, and fades any red spots left by pimples much quicker than they do naturally. I have tried other things, but I always go back to this.

4. Top blemish zapper?

I don’t often use a spot treatment, because they tend to just make my skin flaky, which makes it impossible to cover up the redness without making it look 10 times worse. But when I was in my late teens and my skin was quite bad, The Body Shop’s Tea Tree line was an absolute life saver.

5. Face wipes – yay or nay?

Yay – with conditions. The time I tend to use face wipes is first thing in the morning, if I’m not having a shower right away, because my skin is clean and I just need to get the sleep out of my eyes and get off any moisturizer residue. The other time is the very odd night when I’m extremely tired and too lazy to do a proper cleanse – I feel it is far superior to not removing my makeup at all. If it’s a no-makeup day, I don’t feel so bad about it. So in a nutshell: I think that there are times when they can be appropriate, but shouldn’t replace a daily proper cleanse. I like the Aveeno Ultra Calming ones and also Olay Express Daily Facial for sensitive skin. (note – If I am wearing makeup, I only use the wipes to remove skin makeup, and I will use a makeup remover to get off my eye makeup – you should NOT rub at your eyes with wipes!)

6. Toner – Yay or nay?

Yay to Breath of Fresh Air and other Lush toners

Nay to alcohol-y, astringent-y toners.

7. High end skincare or high end make up

Both if you can afford it, neither if you can’t. I think that unless you’re looking for a very specific effect (anti-aging, etc) or ingredient (hyluronic acid, etc) then drugstore or slightly above (The Body Shop for example) will do the job 9 times out of 10. If you’re just looking for a good day time lotion or cleanser, you don’t need to spend a fortune.

8. What’s the most universal skincare product you’ve tried?

Probably the Chamomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter from The Body Shop. It is so gentle, gives a really excellent cleanse and would work for anyone’s skin.

9. You’re in a pharmacy and can only pick up one item – what is it?

Like Nuala, I’m going to assume this is a French pharmacy and say either Le Roche Posay products or Caudalie enzymatic peel mask. (Both are available in Canada, but SO much cheaper in France)

10. Top skincare tips:

A) Be consistent with your routine. It often takes products a while to start working, and your skin with thank you for cleansing properly and moisturizing every single day.

B) Be nice to your skin. Don’t scrub it within an inch of it’s life, don’t overload it with a million products, don’t put on a different mask every day and do give your skin some no-makeup days to breathe.

C) Don’t underestimate lifestyle factors when it comes to your skin. Nutrition, sleep, exercise, stress, smoking, tanning, and how much water you drink all affect your skin. Usually more than what you put on it. I’m planning to do a whole post on this as I think it’s a really overlooked area when it comes to skincare.

If you do this tag or found it helpful, let me know! What’s your top skincare tip?

Thanks again to Nuala from dolluplondon.com!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ve just started using the the Body Shop’s Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion. I hadn’t heard much about it and picked it up on a whim.. Great to hear it works for you. Hopefully I’ll see results soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

